ATAR eligibility

To be eligible for an ATAR in 2016, you must satisfactorily complete at least 10 units of ATAR courses. These ATAR courses must include at least:

  • eight units from Category A courses
  • two units of English
  • three Board Developed courses of two units or greater
  • four subjects.

The fourth point can easily be overlooked or misunderstood. A subject is an area of study (eg mathematics). Within that subject there may be a number of courses (eg Mathematics General 2, Mathematics, HSC Mathematics Extension 1, HSC Mathematics Extension 2). If a student studies, for example, HSC Mathematics Extension 1, HSC Mathematics Extension 2, English Advanced, English Extension 2 and Biology they will not meet the four subjects requirement because they have only studied three subjects: mathematics, English and biology.

Who isn’t eligible for an ATAR?

Students undertaking tertiary preparation programs such as the Tertiary Preparation Certificate (TPC) and Open Foundation do not receive an ATAR.

International Baccalaureate (IB Diploma) candidates are not eligible to receive an ATAR. Instead, if they’ve been awarded the IB Diploma or Bilingual Diploma, they are allocated a UAC rank based on their total IB score.

Quick ATAR links